# SOUTH LANARKSHIRE COUNCIL

Minutes of the special meeting held via Confero and the Council Chamber on 17 May 2023

#### Chair:

**Provost Margaret Cooper** 

#### **Councillors Present:**

Councillor Alex Allison, Councillor John Anderson, Councillor Ralph Barker, Councillor John Bradley, Councillor Walter Brogan, Councillor Robert Brown, Councillor Archie Buchanan, Councillor Mathew Buchanan, Councillor Janine Calikes, Councillor Andy Carmichael, Councillor Maureen Chalmers, Councillor Ross Clark, Councillor Gerry Convery, Councillor Poppy Corbett, Councillor Andrea Cowan, Councillor Margaret Cowie, Councillor Maureen Devlin, Councillor Colin Dewar, Councillor Mary Donnelly, Councillor Joe Fagan, Councillor Allan Falconer, Councillor Grant Ferguson, Councillor Gladys Ferguson-Miller, Councillor Elise Frame, Councillor Alistair Fulton, Councillor Ross Gowland, Councillor Geri Gray, Councillor Lynsey Hamilton, Councillor Celine Handibode, Councillor Graeme Horne, Councillor Mark Horsham, Councillor Martin Hose, Councillor Cal Johnston-Dempsey, Councillor Gavin Keatt, Councillor Susan Kerr, Councillor Ross Lambie, Councillor Martin Lennon, Councillor Eileen Logan, Councillor Katy Loudon, Councillor Hugh Macdonald, Councillor Julia Marrs, Councillor Ian McAllan, Councillor Catherine McClymont, Councillor Lesley McDonald, Councillor Elaine McDougall, Councillor Davie McLachlan, Councillor Richard Nelson, Councillor Carol Nugent, Councillor Norman Rae, Councillor Mo Razzag, Councillor Kirsten Robb, Councillor John Ross, Councillor Graham Scott, Councillor David Shearer, Councillor Bert Thomson (Depute), Councillor Helen Toner, Councillor Margaret B Walker, Councillor David Watson

## **Councillors' Apologies:**

Councillor Richard Lockhart, Councillor Monique McAdams, Councillor Kenny McCreary, Councillor Mark McGeever

### **Chief Executive's Service**

C Sneddon, Chief Executive

# **Community and Enterprise Resources**

D Booth, Executive Director

#### **Education Resources**

T McDaid, Executive Director

### **Finance and Corporate Resources**

P Manning, Executive Director; G McCann, Head of Administration and Legal Services; K McLeod, Administration Assistant; K McVeigh, Head of Personnel Services; S Somerville, Administration Manager

### **Housing and Technical Resources**

S Gibson. Executive Director

### Social Work Resources/Health and Social Care

S Sengupta, Director, Health and Social Care

# **Provost's Opening Remarks**

The Provost:-

- congratulated the Director, Health and Social Care, Soumen Sengupta, who had been appointed Honorary Professor of Strategy and Public Health at Glasgow Caledonian University
- referred to the fact that Tony McDaid, Executive Director (Education Resources) would soon be leaving the Council to take up a new role in professional sport. She thanked him for all his hard work with Education Resources, which had thrived under his directorship, and wished him well for the future in his new, chosen career. Councillors Ross, Fagan, Allison and Brown spoke, in turn, to record their thanks and appreciation to Tony

# 1 Declaration of Interests

No interests were declared.

# 2 Councillors' Request in Terms of Standing Order No 3

Following a request received on 26 April 2023 from councillors, as listed on the agenda front, to consider a suspension of Standing Orders to enable the reversal of decisions taken at the special meeting of the Council held on 22 February 2023, the Provost advised that, in compliance with Standing Order No 28, at least two thirds of those present and voting required to agree.

On a vote being taken by roll call in relation to the suspension of Standing Orders, members voted as follows:-

### For

John Anderson, John Bradley, Archie Buchanan, Janine Calikes, Maureen Chalmers, Ross Clark, Andrea Cowan, Colin Dewar, Mary Donnelly, Grant Ferguson, Gladys Ferguson-Miller, Elise Frame, Alistair Fulton, Geri Gray, Graeme Horne, Mark Horsham, Cal Johnston-Dempsey, Katy Loudon, Hugh Macdonald, Julia Marrs, Ian McAllan, Elaine McDougall, Carol Nugent, Kirsten Robb, John Ross, David Shearer, Helen Toner

### Against

Alex Allison, Ralph Barker, Walter Brogan, Robert Brown, Mathew Buchanan, Andy Carmichael, Gerry Convery, Margaret Cooper, Poppy Corbett, Margaret Cowie, Maureen Devlin, Joe Fagan, Allan Falconer, Ross Gowland, Lynsey Hamilton Celine Handibode, Martin Hose, Gavin Keatt, Susan Kerr, Ross Lambie, Martin Lennon, Eileen Logan, Catherine McClymont, Lesley McDonald, Davie McLachlan, Richard Nelson, Norman Rae, Mo Razzaq, Graham Scott, Bert Thomson, Margaret B Walker, David Watson

27 members voted for Standing Orders to be suspended and 32 voted against. As the required threshold of 40 was not met, the request for Standing Orders to be suspended was rejected.

**The Council decided:** that Standing Orders be not suspended.

[Reference: Minutes of 22 February 2023 (Paragraph 6)]