SOUTH LANARKSHIRE COUNCIL

Minutes of meeting held in the Council Chamber, Council Offices, Almada Street, Hamilton on 23 June 2010

Chair:

Provost Russell Clearie

Councillors Present:

Alex Allison, John Anderson, Eileen Baxendale, Archie Buchanan, Jackie Burns, John Cairney, Andy Carmichael, Gordon Clark, Pam Clearie, Gerry Convery, Peter Craig, Maureen Devlin, Jim Docherty, Barry Douglas, Hugh Dunsmuir, Douglas Edwards, Beith Forrest (Depute), Bev Gauld, Tommy Gilligan, Ian Gray, Jim Handibode, Bill Holman, Bobby Lawson, Eileen Logan, Joe Lowe, Anne Maggs, James Malloy, Edward McAvoy, Brian McCaig, Clare McColl, Jim McGuigan, Alex McInnes, Brian McKenna, Denis McKenna, Jean McKeown, Davie McLachlan, John McNamee, Mary McNeill, Danny Meikle, Alice Marie Mitchell, John Murray, Patrick Ross-Taylor, Graham Scott, David Shearer, Graham Simpson, Mary Smith, Hamish Stewart, George Sutherland, Chris Thompson, Bert Thomson, Richard Tullett, Jim Wardhaugh, Sheena Wardhaugh, David Watson, Pat Watters

Councillors' Apologies:

David Baillie, Walter Brogan, Graeme Campbell, Allan Falconer, Lynn Filshie, Anne Higgins, Graeme Horne, Archie Manson, Michael McCann, Lesley McDonald, Henry Mitchell

Attending:

Chief Executive's Service

A Strang, Chief Executive

Community Resources

N Anderson, Executive Director

Corporate Resources

R Lake, Administration Manager; A Morton, Central Research Unit Manager; D Wilson, Head of Administration Services

Education Resources

L Forde, Executive Director

Enterprise Resources

C McDowall, Executive Director

Finance and Information Technology Resources

L Hardie, Executive Director and Depute Chief Executive

Social Work Resources

H Stevenson, Executive Director

1 Declaration of Interests

No interests were declared.

2 Minutes of Previous Meeting

The minutes of the meeting of the South Lanarkshire Council held on 10 March 2010 were submitted for approval as a correct record.

The Council decided: that the minutes be approved as a correct record.

3 Recommendations Referred by Executive Committee - Annual Investment Strategy 2010/2011

A report dated 23 June 2010 by the Chief Executive was tabled on a recommendation which had been referred to the Council by the Executive Committee of 23 June 2010. The recommendation was as follows:-

Annual Investment Strategy 2010/2011

that the recommendation of the Finance and Information Technology Resources Committee in relation to the Council's Annual Investment Strategy 2010/2011 be approved

The Council decided: that the Council's Annual Investment Strategy 2010/2011

be approved.

[Reference: Minutes of Executive Committee of 23 June 2010 (Paragraph 14) and Finance and Information Technology Resources Committee of 1 June 2010 (Paragraph 5)]

4 Urgent Business

There were no items of urgent business.